Phenomenal Woman…

 

Woke up this morning and my mum was getting ready for work, I’m always, as she would say ‘in her armpit’, just getting on her nerves and such, but today I just took time to observe her and quietly. And it got me to thinking how much our parents do, especially our mothers, actually do.

This Sunday was Mother’s Day and I’m sure we all took time to tell our mothers, or the woman who have influenced our lives, just how much we love them, cos I sure did. But we shouldn’t commit to our Mother’s in this way just once a year, if you love someone and appreciate someone, they should be aware of this all the time. We should just regard Mothering Sunday as a confirmation of but we should not use it as an opportunity, cos to be honest, that opportunity should be daily. During church Pastor outline some facts about our Mother’s that were so simple but so real…

  • Mother’s are there at the very beginning – Erm… doh, of course, they were there when we were born right, some mother’s die during child birth, so understand just how special she is for the mere that that she risked her life for you before even knowing you…
  • Mother’s have a way of seeing things fathers do not see We all experienced this, there’ll be times when my mum would notice that I’m worrying about something or peed off and she’ll try and bring my stepdad in and he’ll say, ‘nah, she’s alright, leave her alone’… Thats great stuff. Mother’s always understand their children’s potential from a young age and encourage them constantly. Moses’ mother saw that he was a beautiful child and hid him from death for three months before giving him away – Hebrews 11:23. A father can hug a child on the outside, but a mother loves her child from the inside… Internal Connection.
  • Mother’s have a away of shutting fathers up – In Judges 13:6, we saw a conflict of values between two parents, a father was more interested in what the child was going to do work-wise, where as the mother had to shut him up and say ‘are you stupid’, lol, she already knew that the child was going to be great because God had previously spared his life – the mother had intuition which the father did not, men in this situation need to listen because intuition is as good as knowledge.
  • Mother’s will do anything for a child, she will fight to keep her children alive – There are many examples in the Holy Book on mothers who did not give up in helping their children, in 2Kings 4:17, we read about a father who did not show no care in how his son was doing, but rather the child’s mother was doing everything in her power to keep the child alive.

 

I hope my church notes enlightened you, lol. Here’s a poem written by Maya Angelou  one of the greatest authors and motivational speakers to date, I remember reading it when I was younger after hearing it in Poetic Justice, didn’t really understand it too much then, but as I’ve grown older and wiser, it has much relevance to some o my views today…

 

PHENOMENAL WOMAN

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

I walk into a room
Just as cool as you please,
And to a man,
The fellows stand or
Fall down on their knees.
Then they swarm around me,
A hive of honey bees.
I say,
It’s the fire in my eyes,
And the flash of my teeth,
The swing in my waist,
And the joy in my feet.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

Men themselves have wondered
What they see in me.
They try so much
But they can’t touch
My inner mystery.
When I try to show them
They say they still can’t see.
I say,
It’s in the arch of my back,
The sun of my smile,
The ride of my breasts,
The grace of my style.
I’m a woman

Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

Now you understand
Just why my head’s not bowed.
I don’t shout or jump about
Or have to talk real loud.
When you see me passing
It ought to make you proud.
I say,
It’s in the click of my heels,
The bend of my hair,
the palm of my hand,
The need of my care,
‘Cause I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman,
That’s me.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

