Self Love…

 

I decided to write a post on “Self Love” after reading a recent post a friend put up. She spoke about how society nowadays contributed vastly to the way we perceived ourselves as individuals, how society placed an emphasis on how we should look and desired to be portrayed. Check it out, its definitely an eye opener and some food for thought, you can find it at www.shardeyaworld.blogspot.com. What I loved about the post is how she address some serious issues in our society today, it’s mainly focused on females and I came to realise that we have lost all aspects of our love for self and we don’t know our true value. I haven’t consulted my Bible over this issue just yet so everything in going to jot down is just simply my opinion and views in the matter. I believe that If we knew what we were worth in the  eyes of God a lot of our problems today would be resolved.

Once, my mate and I had a conversation about not truly knowing each other inside and out, we’ve been very good friends for some years now and to our knowledge we thought we were quite equipped in the friendship knowledge category, but we wouldn’t be any more further from the truth. In my past I’ve gone through experiences which have made me the person I am today, but when people look at me, they will never guess that at one point I was in the foster care system, there was a time in my life where my mum wasn’t able to look after me to government standard that I was taken away from her for her to get on her feet, I’ve had some  bad childhood experiences but I refuse to let the residue of that pain effect in a negative way the person I am today. I know my self worth, I know that if every time someone has said something negative to me in regards to the way I look for example (this has happened more times that you could imagine… LOL), I take it upon myself not to let other people’s word effect my ability to live.

I know what I am and in whom I’m in, I know that I was put on this Earth for a specific purpose, I know that God created me to look this way for a reason, and regardless of what people say or do to me, I refuse to change anything about myself to please others because at the end of the day, if i’m disliking my self because of ‘he said she said’, I’m disrespecting my Creator. I have had people come up to me and tell me I don’t have a care in the world, i’m spoilt, blah, blah, blah, mate, that might be so because like I said, I refuse to let negative things hold me down because I know I am worth more than those situations. The love I have for myself has taught me not to let my past trials and tribulations effect the person I am. I’m not saying that we should disregard our pasts and just live life the way we not, not even, what I’m saying is that everybody goes through things, everybody has struggles one way or another, but it’s up to the person to decided whether or not they are going to let their troubles define them.

I haven’t even reached the paramount of self love, there’s still so much more that I have to learn and endure, but what I have endured in the past has made me what I am today and that is what people see and admire about me. I used the word ‘endured’ for a specific reason, the Bible countless times gives us illustrations of people who ‘endured’ hardships and suffering to gain complete acceptance from God, right from the Israelites all the way down to Jesus, Son of Man himself! Once God see we can live through a situation which we don’t quite favour, He blesses us with His grace to go through it and at the end of the day this is what life is about. Your blessing will come in the morning, you simply merely have to make it through the night!

I’m gonna stop here before I start preaching sermons… LMAO! But I will leave you with this:

“…greater is He who is in you than,he who is in the world…” – 1 John 4:4

Bless
MayahAdoley

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

